My favourite reads of 2015

Each December for the last few years, I’ve shared on this blog the five books I most enjoyed reading over the previous twelve months. It’s always been a challenge to pick out my favourites but I’ve enjoyed looking back and realising that my immediate response after I finish a book – positive or negative – changes over time. Some move me in that quiet, stealthy way that only makes itself known, quite unexpectedly, months later. Others pack a punch that keeps me turning the page but dissipates quickly once the book is back on the shelf. Some, of course, storm their way on to my top five list and refuse to move from there.

I’ve also loved hearing from friends that have read my past posts and bought books on the basis of my recommendation, hopefully getting as much joy from them as I have. Last year, so many people I know bought Evie Wyld’s All the Birds, Singing and I’m still delighted to have shared such a wonderful book with them.

So I had every intention of repeating my top five blog post again this year. But my 2015 has been an interesting year, not least in reading terms, and I find myself unable to choose just five great books. It hasn’t been a matter of quantity – a new and challenging job in April meant that there was a dip in my book count in the spring so I’ve only read just under 40 during the year – but really of quality. Maybe I’ve been a little more discerning this year. Maybe there are just a lot of great books out there at the moment. Maybe it’s a bit of both.

Guess what, though? It’s my blog and my rules so I get to change them. This year, in a celebration of festive cliché, I’m going to share with you the twelve books I’ve most enjoyed… in my 12 Days of Christmas Book List! Starting tomorrow, I’m going to count you down all the way to Christmas Eve, when I’ll share my very favourite 2015 read. I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

Leave a Reply

