Reading meme

Hot on the heels of yesterday’s Literature Festival post, I stumbled across this reading meme on @rich_w’s blog. Late to the party as I am, I felt like rewarding my finance assignment progress with a bit more book talk…

Do you snack while reading? > I rarely snack full stop.

What is your favourite drink while reading? > A cup of tea, unless it’s late Sunday morning or I’m in a coffee shop, in which case it’s an Americano with room for milk please.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you? > I am a literature graduate: most of the books I own from those days contain much underlining and copious annotations. These days, I don’t tend to annotate fiction (if a line really strikes me, I’ll write it down in my Moleskine) but I’m more likely to mark non-fiction, particularly if it’s work-related.

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat? > I use my bus pass so that I never forget it.

Fiction, non-fiction or both? > Again, I’m a literature graduate so fiction tends to win out. But I’ve started to read a great deal more non-fiction in recent years, generally books on architecture and planning, politics, feminism and theatre and biographies. I also harbour a (no longer) secret obsession with self-help and business management books and have something of a fetish for cookery books.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere? > I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter but will make do with the end of a section or paragraph.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you? > I am a somewhat tenacious reader and will put up with anything. Even Ian McEwan.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away? > I’m a bright girl. I can usually figure it out.

What are you currently reading? > Fiction: the last book of Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, ‘The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest’ – I’m on the home-straight now and it really is a cracking read (when it’s not going into the intricate details of Swedish political history and its intelligence service). Non-fiction: ‘First, Break All The Rules’ by Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman. It’s one of my management diploma set-texts but I’m rather enjoying it (I’ve already confessed my love of business management books). I am very much convinced by the idea that an organisation has as many cultures as it does managers.

What is the last book you bought? > See yesterday’s post.

Do you have a favourite time/place to read? > Sunday mornings, curled up on the sofa in my dressing gown, whilst my husband plays video games.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones? > No preference! It rather depends on the book or series, doesn’t it?

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over? > The only people I would recommend books to are my mum and @AllyWickstead. I *think* I know what they might like…

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)? > I tend to keep ‘type’ together, i.e. novels, plays, poetry, non-fiction (by subject), cookery, etc. I have a single shelf for unread books, so that I don’t forget about them (easily done) and I always keep authors and series together.

 

One thought on “Reading meme

  1. Oh Jenn you make my reading seem very ‘shallow’, though if a phrase or line strikes me I do make a note of it, usually on a scrap of paper that I consequently loose. I organise my books by the colour of their cover (I am embarrassed to say) but it does look very pleasing to the eye. The source of my material, the local library which only has 3 shelves in English, so choice is rather limited, but if you could recommend a few authors to look out for that would be much appreciated.
    Finally a question for you, do you read books you enjoy more than once?

Leave a Reply

