I’m absolutely gutted by the news of Stuart Cable’s death today. Stereophonics might not be the trendiest of bands but, in their earlier days, when Cable was still their drummer, they had a big influence on my musical taste. And as a 16 year old, they were the first band I ever saw live – at Portsmouth Pyramids, supported by Feeder, I think. Following his departure from the band, I don’t think they were ever quite as good. Too much of Kelly’s gravelly voice and not much more than that.

Time to revisit a classic, I think…

4 thoughts on “

  1. I feel exactly the same about them. The first album was great, and ever since then they’ve just gone downhill (although I quite like both Dakota and Just Looking). Portsmouth Pyramids is only 15 minutes walk from my house in sunny Southsea 🙂 Terrible venue to see bands generally, and yet I’ve also seen a couple of amazing shows there.

    Keep up the good work with a blog a day this week. As someone who tries to write 4 or 5 a week (sometimes more) I have to admit I cheat a little and often pre-write several in advance. On my blog if it goes up at 12.01 or 00.01 it means it was probably written several days before and then scheduled ! The power of the internet ‘magic’

    1. Thanks Robin! I grew up in Eastleigh so the Pyramids was my only real option for gigs in those days (I wasn’t allowed to go to the Wedgewood Rooms!) – dreadful venue but some great memories (and a cracking wave machine in the swimming pool if I remember from my *even* younger days…). I saw Coldplay there before their first album was released and it was incredible.

      I have a tendency to write reams and struggle to keep blogs short and snappy, which is why I don’t do it very often. It’s a tendency that spreads into my professional life too so hopefully, this will sort that out!

  2. I think I may have been at that very Coldplay gig (I also saw them play the 120 capacity Joiners Arms in Southampton before that)

    One of the funniest things about the Pyramids is that many people, when they first go to a gig there ask is it going to be in the swimming pool 🙂 I did the same when I first moved to Portsmouth from London some years back.

Leave a Reply

