Cashing in my winnings

So, I told you I won a prize, right? No?

Well, I got “a prize of books” from the RTPI for getting the highest grade in my masters degree, which was nice. Although, in reality, I received a cheque for £60 posted to me a few weeks after my graduation ceremony. But, in the spirit of the prize, I did indeed buy myself some books. And here they are:


Rather disappointingly, it doesn’t look like much but there’s £45 worth of books there (I’m saving the other £15 to spend later but already have a few books in mind). But I’m definitely looking forward to starting 2010 with the following selection of books:

‘A Prayer for Owen Meany’ by John Irving – recommended to me as a teenager but a book I never quite got round to reading, recommended again recently by a colleague so one I definitely must read now.

‘In Cold Blood’ by Truman Capote – because I fancied reading some modern classics, and enjoyed Capote (the Philip Seymour Hoffman version).

‘Sputnik Sweetheart’ by Haruki Murakami – much to the horror of friends and family, I got to the age of 27 without having read any Murakami. Having absolutely adored ‘The Wind-up Bird Chronicle’ this year, I can’t wait to read more.

‘Simply Complexity’ by Neil Johnson – this looks fascinating and is full of maths, which I’m determined to get to grips with in 2010.

‘Bad Science’ by Ben Goldacre – because I read the column, follow him on twitter, like what he has to say, etc.

‘Death and the Penguin’ by Andrey Kurkov – recommended by the fabulous Ally, and with an intriguing premise…

‘Madame Bovary’ by Gustave Flaubert – when Leigh and I went to the Literature Festival this year, we went to a talk on mad women in literature and this was discussed. Sounds like fun.

‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Bronte – because what English Literature graduate hasn’t read it? I am a disgrace.

‘Enough’ by John Naish – which was recommended, although I cannot for the life of me remember by whom. Dealing with enough information, enough work, enough stuff, it certainly appears to be just what I need over the Christmas period…

Just got to finish my current read (Alan Paton’s ‘Cry the Beloved Country’) so that I can get started 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cashing in my winnings

Leave a Reply

