Crossing the picket line

I crossed the picket line today (well, I walked past a man giving out leaflets) and will do so again tomorrow.

It’s not that I think public sector workers don’t deserve more money – my colleagues and I do a vital job for our residents and, of course, we should be rewarded adequately for that. I just don’t think that striking is the way to get it. Maybe it is naïve of me to think so, but I believe that we shouldn’t have to resort to throwing our toys out of the pram and stomping our feet to get what we want.

I also think that our reputation with the general public is already so appalling that causing so much disruption will only damage it further and any sympathy people might have had for our cause is jeopardised.

Maybe if I was front-line staff, if my salary was lower, if the rising cost of living was hitting me like it is hitting some…maybe then I’d feel differently but I don’t think so. I think I’d still believe that we could get there another way.

2 thoughts on “Crossing the picket line

  1. Good points and well made.

    I’d like to think I would do the same if I was in the situation too.
    (Not that us darksiders get the chance to strike – we’d just get fired!)

  2. Thank you 🙂

    In fairness, I’m not a member of a union so I would also get fired if I went on strike.

Leave a Reply

