From my notebook

“As I write, we have no electricity – at work or at home. It’s like someone up there saw me melt down yesterday and gave me the perfect motivation to leave the office, come home and do my university reading. No TV, no internet, no distractions.

Although my house – deathly quiet apart from the ticking of the kitchen clock and distant burglar alarms triggered by the power outage – is a little eerie…”

At that moment, the hospital rang to say that my friend had come round from her anaesthetic and was ready to be picked up so I never did get that reading done. Of course, if I’d just got on with it instead of writing about it in my notebook…

Leave a Reply

