Being cool

So on Friday, Jane, Vic and I travelled up to the Jamhouse in Birmingham for Jane’s uni friend’s birthday. It’s an awesome venue – great music, friendly clientele – although a little pricey. That said, I would recommend drinking considerably less than I did. That way you’ll save yourself a lot of money and you won’t be so hungover the next day that you don’t make it to the sold-out Portishead gig (I am still so, so gutted – sorry Rob…).

Anyway, this blog entry had a point… About an hour or so into the night, this guy walked passed me who I recognised. We stared at each other for a while and then carried on dancing and I forgot all about it. Until later in the evening – after a good few (expensive) black sambucas – I bumped into him again. Only this time I was drunk enough to slur “do I know you from somewhere?!” He agreed he recognised me too and after a bit it hit me. We took A Level German together at sixth form college in Hampshire seven years ago.

He was one of the really cool kids at college; I guess he’d be a jock if we were in some American high school movie. And, well, I definitely wasn’t cool. At all. I had purple hair and a nose ring and I wore DMs with fishnets and listened to weird music. He and I didn’t really ever talk (well, not in English anyway). But he seemed genuinely pleased to see me on Friday which I found really strange. In fact, he was *really* pleased to see me. To the point that he was kind of gushing. So I made the point that he would never have spoken to me this much in sixth form. And he replied, “no, because you were so cool, I was completely in awe of you. I always looked at you and wished I had the guts to be different.”

Well, that kind of had me stumped. Maybe it was the fact that he was drunk as me and he didn’t really mean it but I feel kind of smug anyway. I just wish I’d known that seven years ago…

4 thoughts on “Being cool

  1. Ah, well I know I was definitely uncool at school. (I am dreading when someone (inevitably) puts up old photo’s on FB).

    All the coolest girls at my sixth form wore fishnets, had nose rings, dyed thier hair and listened to the weirdest stuff. They wouldn’t get within 10 feet of me 😦

  2. That’s so wierd. Especially since I’ve got a pretty good idea of who you are talking about. Definately viewed him as the archetypal ‘jock’. In Clueless we’d have been the wierd stoners on the grass whose dress sense Alicia Silverstone could not understand; he’d have been Elton (you’ll only get this if you know the intricacies (sp??) of Clueless as Jenn and I do!).
    Anyway, I thought you were tres cool in college. Every one liked you, and you pulled of a vomit coloured satin skirt from Mark One like nobody else I’ve ever known!
    Your blog reminds me of Mike with the thighs who I finally got to pull at the ball. We chattered in class and stuff and got on well then. It wasn’t until the ball and we were all dressed up that he looked beyond the multi coloured hair and dungarees and realised he missed something good.
    So to your German friend and Mike with the thighs – too bad, you missed out! I hope they forever feel bad for this! Haha!

  3. The skirt!! Wow, I can’t believe I wore that in public… and remember the red netball skirt?! Yikes!

    Fancy watching Clueless again over Xmas – I haven’t seen it in aaaages (and Mean Girls is nearly taking over in my heart and we can’t be having that!).

  4. we’ll watch them both as a double header and can analyse them as we do to figure out which is best (which is clearly Clueless – especially since I told you to watch it once to cheer youup from splitting with you-know-who!)

Leave a Reply

