This Blog…

It’s been a long time coming. And it probably means that I’m about three (five?) years behind being zeitgeist but, the thing is, I could never really decide what my blog would be about. 

Some options: 

1. My work – I work in local government policy. You may think this is boring but you really shouldn’t because it’s pretty much what decides the things that are important where you live and how the people in charge are going to make a difference. And there is an element of public consultation, community engagement, etc. But remember that it’s us doing the consulting with you. So, yeah, we pretty much decide. And therefore it’s important. Consider yourself chastised. 

But the fact that I work in local government means that I probably won’t write about work too often – it’s tricky because I’d want to say things that were worth saying and that would often mean criticising things. I could probably get in trouble for doing that so I won’t.  

2. My degree – I’m studying Town Planning. It’s great. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do. Even when I was a kid (that was before Sim City existed, you know) I used to draw big cities and name all the roads and the schools after people I knew (admittedly, this is not quite what town planners do, but you get the idea…). Anyway, it wasn’t until I read Daniel Libeskind’s autobiography (and met him in person – wow) when I was 23 that I realised that all I wanted to do was work in the built environment. 

But to some extent, I still feel like a bit of a fraud. My first degree is in English Literature and I don’t actually work in planning. So I always feel like I’m totally unqualified to comment on the state of the UK planning system. I wonder if I’ll always feel like that? 

3. My interests – are (in no particular order) music, literature, motorbikes, visual art, design, architecture, wine, cities, and probably some other things too. The first two are dealt with on my last.fm and librarything.com accounts but I might touch on the other stuff from time to time. 

The thing is, I always feel the urge to write even though I’m never happy with what I end up writing. It’s a constant disappointment to me that I’ll never be a novelist (everyone’s got a novel in them, right? Bollocks). If I was, I would write a novel about a compulsive liar. It probably wouldn’t be very good. 

So, in the absence of a theme, here are some things that I love at the moment: 

David Lynch photographing Christian Louboutin’s Fetish collection 

These bookcases – we can talk about my, fairly run-of-the-mill, dream about owning a bookshop another time. 

These songs:

Hummer by Foals 

Drop the Phone by Shy Child

My Manic & I by Laura Marling

2 thoughts on “This Blog…

Leave a Reply

